US Scientific Honor Awarded to CIAT Research Leader

23 November, 2015 by (comments)

Joe Tohme, director of CIAT’s Agrobiodiversity Research Area

Joe Tohme, director of CIAT’s Agrobiodiversity Research Area, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year, 347 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate, and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin in a ceremony to take place on Saturday, 13 February, at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2016 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

“Joe’s accomplishments represent the highest ideal of CIAT and the entire CGIAR: harnessing agricultural science to benefit the world’s poorest and most vulnerable people,” said Ruben Echeverría, director general of CIAT.

This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on 27 November 2015.

As part of the Biological Science section, Tohme was elected as an AAAS Fellow “for distinguished contributions to the field of plant biotechnology, particularly in seeking ways to reduce micronutrient malnutrition using agriculture and genomics.”

Joe-Tohme2“I am delighted that AAAS has recognized Dr. Tohme’s outstanding contributions to agricultural research,” said Howarth Bouis, director of CGIAR’s HarvestPlus initiative. “He has developed and managed our innovative portfolio in plant genomics, which has been instrumental in developing nutritious crop varieties that are now being cultivated and consumed by farmers in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. This will have a long-lasting and significant impact in alleviating malnutrition in poor countries.”

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for 4 years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section, and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

The AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science as well as Science Translational Medicine and Science Signaling. AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes 254 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more. For the latest research news, log onto EurekAlert!, the premier science-news website, a service of AAAS.

Tagged With: , , ,
Filed Under: Crops @en